Acute lymphoblastic leukaemia


Types of ALL

The 2016 revision to the World Health Organization classification of acute leukaemia describes different types of ALL according to the cell lineage they originate. B-ALLs are further subdivided into those without genetic alterations and those with genetic abnormalities, including a list of known alterations.

1. A subgroup called acute leukaemias of ambiguous lineage, which includes:

  • Acute undifferentiated leukaemia
  • Mixed phenotype acute leukaemia (MPAL) with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2); BCR-ABL1
  • MPAL with t(v;11q23.3); KMT2A rearranged
  • MPAL, B/myeloid, NOS
  • MPAL, T/myeloid, NOS

2. A subgroup called B-lymphoblastic leukemia, which includes:

  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma, Not other specification
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with recurrent genetic abnormalities
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2);BCR-ABL1
  • B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(v;11q23.3);KMT2A rearranged
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with t(12;21)(p13.2;q22.1); ETV6-RUNX1
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with hyperdiploidy
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with hypodiploidy
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with t(5;14)(q31.1;q32.3) IL3-IGH
  • B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with t(1;19)(q23;p13.3);TCF3-PBX1
  • Provisional entity: B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma, BCR-ABL1–like
  • Provisional entity: B-lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma with iAMP21

3. T-cell lymphoblastic leukaemia: 

  • Provisional entity: Early T-cell precursor lymphoblastic leukaemia
  • Provisional entity: Natural killer (NK) cell lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma

** List adapted from Terwilliger T and Abdul-Hay M. Acute lymphoblastic leukemia: a comprehensive review and 2017 update. Blood Cancer J. 7, e577 (2017).

Source of the image: Unsplash


Last modified
13 August 2020
New study!

Health-related quality of life in people living with rare diseases